Why typos and spelling mistakes don’t really matter

Standard

We should not get overly obsessed with making spelling mistakes or typos, because they are not what makes our writing good or bad, says author and Financial Times columnist Lucy Kellaway.

In a recent column about Sheryl Sandberg, I spelt her first name with a C. I read the piece over a few times before submitting, as I always do, saw nothing amiss, and pressed “send”.

I have spent 30 years in journalism, and there I was misspelling a name I had spelt correctly dozens of times before.

Had the mistake not been spotted, the newspaper would have looked ridiculous and I would have seemed sloppy, dim and outrageously unprofessional.

The truth is, I’ve always had a flair for typos. It is not getting better with experience – nor with spellcheck. My ability to introduce mistakes has kept well ahead of the efforts of Microsoft and Apple to eliminate them.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

