It’s Time to End Grammar Snobbery

Standard

“Actually, it’s fewer.”

As soon as the words came out of my mouth, I wanted to take them back. An acquaintance had just made the dreaded less-fewer slipup in casual conversation, and I had begun to correct him before I realized two things:
I didn’t know this person well enough to correct his grammar in an email, let alone in a quip uttered on a Friday night.
My correction could easily come off as patronizing advice, or worse, a jab at his intelligence.

End it now!

Leave a Reply

